top of page

untitledpoemthatiwrotetonight(****)


Beneath the fire is where I live

I am ember’d under your magnificence

I don’t want to be seen by you

But I know I should

I clench my teeth

And trap my eyes

And lean into obedience, the way my mother taught me

I am the ant among your giant

The sand that dips within your hourglass

The shiner of your crown

And yet my spine can’t turn when they spit upon your cross

But I watch when the saliva rises in my own mouth

God Help Me

Make me big good

Good, and big and man

A big man with bones that can stretch as far as my sentences when I’m caught in a lie

And arms that make me hug my enemies

(****)

Your Kingdom come

But at what cost

I love that you’re a God that once felt forsaken

And a man who could build altars

But never had to use His hands

Only maybe the crevices of your cheeks

Or the bending of your palms

I pray that I see that I am yours before my days are done

So here I stand tonight

Sniffing nostalgias odor

With a broken psalm in a sweaty palm

I remember my innocence

And then I laugh and consult myself

The Chief of Sinners that hides behind the rocks I carry

I was never innocent

And yet you still favor me

But it’s hard to follow you

A man I kind of know

I am so hungry

And yet I refuse your manna

So I try to make it myself

But I don’t know how your yeast truly yields

How your love never ceases

You’re a God I don’t fully trust (****)

But a stranger who I so dearly love

But here’s the thing:

And Lord, I hope its true...

Whatever course you chart

Whatever winds you plead

My heart betrays north, my heart follows you

(****)


bottom of page